Ulus & Awards

For athletes at the Arctic Winter Games, there is no greater thrill than winning an ulu. The medal’s name and shape are borrowed from the all-purpose knife traditionally used by the Inuit. Ulus are awarded in bronze, silver, and gold; recognizing the hard work and commitment of athletes with a unique memento from the North.

For many of the sports featured in the Arctic Winter Games, medals are awarded at individual sport venues as winners are determined. Traditional ‘Medal Rounds’ will occur in only five of 21 sports; basketball, curling, hockey, soccer, and volleyball.

The Hodgson Trophy

Despite the obvious importance of a competitive spirit in athletic competitions, the Arctic Winter Games have always emphasized fair play over the need for victory. Since its introduction in 1978, the Hodgson Trophy symbolizes the ideals of fair play and team spirit, and is awarded to the participating contingent who best embodies those ideals. Team members also receive a unique pin in recognition of this accomplishment.

Donated by Commissioner Stuart Hodgson, this distinctive trophy is a one-of-a-kind piece of Inuit artwork from the Canadian Arctic. Its main feature is a six-foot high narwhal tusk mounted on a soapstone base and decorated with scrimshaw. A carved walrus wraps itself around the tusk at the base, and a carved bear clings to the tusk’s upper reaches, symbolizing the efforts of participants to reach for the top through their endeavors.

Votes from mission staff, registered coaches, major officials from each sport, Arctic Winter Games International Committee members, registered media, and the President, General Manager, and Sport Manager for the Host Society are tallied to award the trophy in a ceremony that highlights each Arctic Winter Games.

Previous Winners:

1978 – Alaska
1980-88 – Yukon
1990 – Alaska
1992 – Northwest Territories
1994 – Greenland
1996 – Northwest Territories
1998 – Yukon
2000 – Nunavut
2002 – Greenland
2004 – Nunavut
2006 – Alaska
2008 – Nunavut